How to make a dreamcatcher.

IMG_3018

I have had a whole bunch of requests for my dream catcher pattern, so here goes!

What you will need:IMG_3171

An embroidery hoop. (I have used a 5 inch and a 7 inch before – just depends how big you want it!)

Optional yarn to cover the embroidery hoop. The right sized hook for the wool you are using.

Embroidery cotton. This is for the actual dream catching part!

A small crochet hook. I used a 2.5 mm.

Lace, ribbon, buttons, plastic flowers – whatever you want to decorate your dream catcher. (I would recommend trawling through eBay and Etsy for inspiration.)

IMG_3174

1. We are going to start with the embroidery hoop. There are three options for this. If you have bought a pretty rustic looking wooden one, you may choose to leave it as it is. I have done this before and it looked great!

IMG_3083If you have basic crochet skills you may wish to do a simple IMG_2984single crochet all the way around. This looks really pretty and is a good way to add some colour.

The third option is to simply wrap the yarn around the embroidery hoop leaving no gaps and covering all the hoop. Tie off and weave in the ends.

 

2. Alright, now your hoop is looking pretty. We are going to go ahead and start making the woven centre of the dream catcher.To start, wrap the embroidery cotton around the hoop with one inches spaces in between each wrap. IMG_0584

3. Once you are back to the beginning, we are going to start using the small crochet hook. Use the hook to pull the cotton through each of the wraps around.

IMG_0585

4. Now you’re back at the start, we are going to pull the cotton through each of these stitches. This will start to form your symmetrical woven catcher. See the photo!

IMG_0587

5. Repeat this and continue pulling the yarn through each stitch. Be sure to pull the cotton tight and you will start to see the catcher being formed.

IMG_3084IMG_3087

IMG_3089

 

6.Keep doing this until you get to the centre. Pull tight, and tie it off. I used a small amount of craft glue to stick down the very end to keep it neat.

IMG_3091

7. Hurrah! You’ve done the hard part! Now for the fun bit. Decide the length you wish to make your dreamcatcher tail (the bottom bit). Double it, cut and tie it to your hoop. I try to make the tail longer in the middle and shorter to the ends, because I think it looks nice, but you can do whatever you like. Go crazy. Get creative.

I love sewing buttons, fake flowers and beads on to my dream catchers, to make them that bit more special. But this is totally optional!

IMG_3017

Alright, you’re done! If you have any questions or comments, get in touch below.

I hope you have fun with this tutorial and I can’t wait to see all your creations!

Tag me in your photos on Instagram @ohsillypili 🙂

Please do not repost this tutorial without crediting my blog at http://www.ohsillypili.wordpress.com – thanks!

 

12 thoughts on “How to make a dreamcatcher.

  1. Hi! Among all the tutorials I have seen, yours is the easiest to understand. Thank you for those clear photos! 🙂 May I just ask, did you cut the string/thread/thread before you make it? If yes, how long? I hope to hear from you! Thanks again! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Luna! Thank you for your kind words – that’s really sweet of you!
      I did cut the cotton thread before I started and I kind of guessed at the right length – it depends on the size of your embroidery hoop/how tight you make it and how far spaced your original wraps are. My guess for a seven inch hoop would be about five or six feet. Mine was actually a bit short when I cut it so I just tied another length on and used the craft glue trick from the end of the project to neaten it up! hope that helps! Feel free to subscribe to the blog at the bottom of the page 🙂 Pili

      Like

Leave a Reply

